Current Committee Members (2016/17)

Chairperson: Gwynne Morley (Uniphar)

Gwynne joined Uniphar Group in February 2014 as Managing Director for the Retail Services division. She has extensive experience and knowledge of the pharmaceutical industry, from the manufacturer to the patient. Previously she worked for United Drug Group (UDG) Healthcare for 13 years where she was a member of the Senior Executive team. During her tenure with UDG, she held a number of senior roles namely in pre-wholesale, consumer, homecare and quality. Prior to joining UDG, she held management positions within the Crowley Retail Pharmacy Chain and held a multifunctional role within the medical department of Zeneca Pharma, Ireland. Gwynne is the current Chairperson of PIER.

Secretary: Helen Naddy (Mallinckrodt)

Helen brings a diverse range of experience to the PIER committee. Since graduating, she has worked in a number of quality focused roles. Building on experience gained in Medisource, specializing in the distribution of named-patient medicines, she relocated to London to take on a role within the European Medicines Agency (EMA). She returned to Dublin in June 2014, joining the Quality team at Mallinckrodt and is involved in dealing with all matters relating to quality both domestically and internationally. In addition, she regularly works as a locum community pharmacist in order to keep up to date with changes in the industry.

Treasurer: Cathal Gallagher (Mylan Respiratory)

Cathal is a QP in Mylan Respiratory, Dublin. Previously he was acting QP at J&J Ethicon Biosurgery Ireland, a start-up facility in Limerick. He has 10 years experience in the pharmaceutical industry having previously worked in QA at Pfizer, as a pharmaceutical assessor at the HPRA and a QP at Leo Pharma. During his time at the HPRA, he has represented Ireland at a European level in herbal medicine.

Maura Kinahan (Pfizer)

Maura is Senior Medical Advisor with Pfizer. She has spent most of her career to-date in various roles in the pharmaceutical industry (Pharmaceutical Development, Regulatory Affairs, Supply Chain, Commercial, Medical) with Élan, Bristol-Myers Squibb & Pfizer. In 2014/15, she participated in the BioInnovate Fellowship programme, a specialist medical device innovation training programme based in NUI Galway. She holds a pharmacy degree from the University of Strathclyde, Glasgow and PhD from the University of Manchester. She is a founding member of PIER.

Vanessa Lyons (HPRA)

Vanessa is currently working as an assessor with the Clinical Assessment team at HPRA, where she has been based since 2012. She graduated with an MPharm from RCSI in 2011. Prior to this she completed a BSc (Hons) at UCD. She has worked as an immunologist, in both small scale manufacturing (Enfer Scientific) and biopharma start-up facilities (Wyeth, Grange Castle). Vanessa has also worked as a community pharmacist with Lloyds Pharmacy group and locum agencies. She has obtained diverse experience while undertaking regulatory, industry and community roles.

Olivia Murphy (Bayer)

Since graduating from the MPharm programme in Queens University Belfast in 2010, Olivia has worked in both community pharmacy and industry and brings a range of experience to the committee. She initially worked in community pharmacy in Northern Ireland. She relocated to Dublin in 2011 and over the next three years worked in locum and support pharmacist roles. After completing a Masters in HR Management from Dublin City University, Olivia joined Quintiles in 2014 where she worked as a Pharmacovigilance Operations Specialist in Safety Knowledge and Reporting (Regulatory Lead). She is currently working with Bayer as a Medical Information & Pharmacovigilance Officer.

Barry O'Hea (LEO Pharma)

Barry currently works as a Manufacturing Development Executive at LEO Pharma. He studied Pharmacy at RCSI, both BSc (Pharm) and MPharm, graduating in 2015. During his MPharm he was an intern at the HPRA in Pharmaceutical Assessment. He then moved to London to take up a trainee position in the Pharmacovigilance department of the European Medicines Agency (EMA), before moving to his current role in LEO Pharma in May 2016.

Katie Ryan (School of Pharmacy, UCC)

Katie is currently a lecturer in Pharmaceutics in the School of Pharmacy, University College Cork. She graduated with a degree in Pharmacy from TCD. Upon completion of her pre-registration training (Élan Corporation and Waterford Regional Hospital), she went on to pursue a PhD in Pharmaceutics with Prof. Pat Deasy in the School of Pharmacy, TCD. In the School of Pharmacy, Cork she teaches both undergraduate and postgraduate courses in the areas of formulation science, novel drug delivery systems and statistics. Her research interests centre on next-generation medical devices to address device-related infection and bone regeneration strategies. In 2013 & 2014, she spent her sabbatical leave in Prof. David Mooney’s Bioengineering lab in Harvard University researching novel biomaterial strategies to promote bone tissue regeneration.

Ita Walsh (The Compliance Group)

Ita is a Senior Regulatory Consultant with The Compliance Group. A qualified pharmacist and science professional, Ita has spent over 13 years working in the pharmaceutical industry in Regulatory Affairs, Technical Services, Quality Assurance as a Qualified Person and as a Pharmaceutical Assessor in the Health Products Regulatory Authority (HPRA). Ita has extensive experience and knowledge of quality systems, GMP, medicines regulation, medical devices and project management.

Jack Daly (QuintilesIMS)

Jack no longer sits on the PIER committee but continues to represent PIER on the IIOP Steering Group.

Past Committee Members (2012-2015)

  • Stan O’Neill (Compliance Group)-Chairperson 2012-2014
  • Mary Rafter (HPRA)-Secretary 2012-2014
  • Muireann McAlister (Pfizer, formerly AstraZeneca)-Communications 2012-2014
  • Jack Daly (QuintilesIMS formerly Grünenthal)-2012-2014
  • Orlaith Brennan (IPHA) 2012-2013
  • Dr Brendan Griffin (UCC)-Treasurer 2012-2015
  • Michael Lennon (Jazz Pharmaceuticals, formerly HPRA)-Communications 2014-2016
  • Dr Catherine McHugh (PAREXEL, formerly HPRA)-Membership 2012-2015
  • Jenny Loughney (Novartis, formerly PharmaChemical Ireland) 2014-2015
  • Rosemarie Tully (Sigmoid Pharma) 2012-2016

We're Social

Get in touch

C/o School of Pharmacy,
Cavanagh Building,
University College Cork.

Get in touch